What's on in Nelson

Nelson Beer Week

Saturday 18th-Sunday 26th March 2017

Heritage Week 2017

Tuesday 18th-Sunday 23rd April 2017

HybrIDentity

Tuesday 7th-Saturday 25th February 2017
A group exhibition of NMIT graduates 10 years on.

Katrina and Her Band of Men

Thursday 16th-Saturday 25th February 2017
Summer Evenings of music at the Suter Cafe.Songs and Sass,Fantastic musicians, a lot of humour,a ...

Remembering the Remarkable

Thursday 16th-Tuesday 28th February 2017
Experience the remarkable wearable art of the late Golden Bay artist Claire Prebble in a ...

100 Years of Motoring

Thursday 16th February-Sunday 31st December 2017
A unique exhibition showcasing 100 Years of Motoring in an eclectic collection of 120 classic ...

Face to Face with the World's Best

Thursday 16th February-Thursday 30th November 2017
Visit the National WOW Museum’s must-see exhibition of the 2016 international competition wearable art winners.

Buller Festival 2017 and Rafting National Champs

Wednesday 1st-Sunday 5th March 2017
Buller Festival is a 2 day whitewater kayaking, rafting and stand up paddle boarding event ...

Tutus on Tour

Wednesday 1st March 2017
The Royal New Zealand Ballet is delighted to present Tutus on Tour, the legendary regional ...

Big Bang for Fair Trade Nelson Tasman 2017

Saturday 4th March 2017
Join the FREE regional celebration of drumming to support Fair Trade Nelson Tasman. Trafalgar Street ...

The Angels, Midnight Oil and The Divinyls Show

Saturday 4th March 2017
Three legendary Oz bands, one amazing tribute night!. Three of the most incredibly energetic and ...

Changing Threads – Contemporary Fibre Arts Awards 2017

Saturday 4th-Saturday 25th March 2017
Showcasing Contemporary New Zealand Fibre & Textile Arts

Sport Tasman Muddy Buddy Adventure Run

Sunday 5th March 2017
The Sport Tasman Muddy Buddy is on again at Tasman School on Sunday March 5th ...

Port Nelson Community Open Day

Sunday 5th March 2017
A rare opportunity to see get an insight in to the inner workings of Port ...

Tug of Peace 2017

Thursday 9th March 2017
The Tug of Peace is back for 2017! Rope in your friends, whanau, workmates or ...

One Man Two Guvnors

Friday 10th-Saturday 18th March 2017
Nelson Repertory Theatre has the feel-good hit of summer on its hands with Richard Bean’s ...

Mike Pero Trolley Derby

Saturday 11th March 2017
The 2017 Mike Pero Trolley Derby will take place on Saturday 11th of March down ...

Summer Tango in the Queens Gardens

Saturday 11th March 2017
Argentine Tango Dancers from around NZ and Australia get together for the pleasure of social ...

Absolute Wilderness Adventure Race

Saturday 11th-Sunday 12th March 2017
Adventure Race with mountain biking, hiking, rafting and navigation.

Knapps Lawyers Boulder Bank Walk

Sunday 12th March 2017
Walk the Boulder Bank. We provide a bus from Wakefield Quay, visit the baches and ...

Weet-Bix Kids TRYathlon - Nelson

Sunday 12th March 2017
Want to have heaps of fun with your friends and get a Champions Medal in ...

Sprig & Fern Summer Harvest Fare

Friday 17th March 2017
Annual Celebration of the amazing Harvest in our region. Features local food, wine, beer and ...

Nelson Beer Week

Saturday 18th-Sunday 26th March 2017
Nelson Beer Week is showcase of Nelson and NZ craft beers at events embracing local ...

Grumpy Old Women – Game of Crones

Sunday 19th March 2017
Yes they’re back! This time with magic! Grumpy Old Women bring their Game of Crones ...

Stimela, 'The Gumboot' Musical

Friday 24th March-Saturday 1st April 2017
a celebration of song and dance, an international phenomenon that has swept across the globe ...

MarchFest 2017

Saturday 25th March 2017
MarchFest is a unique craft beer and music festival, held in New Zealand’s sunniest city, ...

Wairua Warrior

Saturday 25th March 2017
The Wairua Warrior is an obstacle course race to challenge your strength, endurance and mental ...

The Wedding Show @Melrose

Sunday 26th March 2017
Experience a beautiful day at Melrose and meet our hand-picked, local vendors – ready to ...

City2Saxton

Sunday 9th April 2017
This is a 10km fun run/walk from Victory Community Centre to Saxton Field on smooth ...

Annie

Sunday 9th-Saturday 15th April 2017
The timeless tale of Little Orphan Annie is back, giving a new generation the chance ...

The Home Makers

Monday 17th-Friday 21st April 2017
Tape Art create a temporary mural on the windows of Nelson Provincial museum.

Heritage Week 2017

Tuesday 18th-Sunday 23rd April 2017
Celebrating Nelson's heritage around the theme "Welcome Home". Lots of low cost and free events ...

Huts, Hearths and Homemakers

Wednesday 19th-Friday 21st April 2017
Huts, Hearths and Homemakers a tour of Nelson provincial museum for Heritage Week 2017

Kaiteriteri 6 Hour Mountainbike presented by Port Nelson

Saturday 22nd April 2017
6 Hours of fun riding through the Kaiteriteri Mountainbike Park.Enter solo, or in relay-style teams ...

Jaws Enduro @ Kaiteriteri Mountainbike Park

Sunday 23rd April 2017
3 timed descending stages held on intermediate to advanced tracks, culminating in a full length ...

Nelson Fringe Festival

Saturday 29th April-Sunday 7th May 2017
Nelson's more-than-a-week long Fringe Festival is on!

Moscow Ballet “La Classique” – Swan Lake

Tuesday 2nd-Wednesday 3rd May 2017
Moscow Ballet “La Classique” makes a triumphant return presenting their spectacular performance of Swan Lake, ...

Dr Hook starring Dennis Locorriere

Thursday 18th May 2017
The legendary Dr Hook are coming to Nelson starring original lead singer Dennis Locorriere. Their ...

Queen – It’s a Kinda Magic

Sunday 28th May 2017
Queen – It’s a Kinda Magic recreates Queen’s 1986 World Tour concert, featuring over 20 ...

Rhys Darby - Mystic Time Bird

Monday 7th August 2017
In Mystic Time Bird Rhys turns to the world of ancient mysticism to find answers ...

South Island Masters Games 2017

Wednesday 4th-Sunday 8th October 2017
Experience the camaraderie of the South Island Masters Games - coming back to Nelson this ...

2017 Nelson Arts Festival

Wednesday 11th-Monday 23rd October 2017
The Nelson Arts Festival welcomes in spring with a programme jam packed with fabulous events. ...

Abel Tasman Coastal Classic 2017

Saturday 14th October 2017
The Sea. The Sky. The Sand. The Run. New Zealand's premier trail run.

Nelson Parent and Child Expo 2017

Sunday 15th October 2017
Pregnancy, birth, parent and child related businesses, charity's, childcare services, and MORE! From birth to ...

Golden Bay Live Poets Society

Thursday 19th October 2017
Golden Bay Live Poets Society presents an evening of poetry at the Mussel Inn

2017 Nelson Arts Festival Masked Parade & Carnivale

Friday 20th October 2017
The Nelson Arts Festival presents the iconic Masked Parade & Carnivale!

Golden Bay Live Poets Society

Thursday 14th December 2017
Golden Bay Live Poets Society presents an evening of poetry at the Mussel Inn